Central Anatolia Region - Turkey

Central Anatolia Region – Turkey

The region, in central Anatolia, is the second largest region ranking after the East Anatolian Region. The provinces of Aksaray, Ankara the capital and the second biggest city of Turkey, Çankırı, Eskişehir, Karaman, Kayseri, Kırıkkale, Konya, Nevşehir, Niğde, Sivas and Yozgat are in this region. It is bounded on the east by the East Anatolian, on the west by the Aegean, on the north by the Black Sea on the northwest by the Marmara and on the south by the Mediterranean regions. The region is divided into four parts as upper and middle Kızıl River, upper Sakarya and Konya.

In the region are plains and very high mountains. Erciyes (3.916 m.), Hasan (3.268 m), Ala (2.339 m), Karaca (over 1.500 m) Elma and Idris are the major mountains, some of which are extinct volcanos. There are vast plains in the region. The largest one is Konya Plain, which is known as the granary of Turkey. The Kızıl River and its branches are the most important source of water in the region, which also has the second biggest lake, Lake Tuz (salt).

The continental climate dominates in the region, which has hot dry summers and cold wet winters. Due to the climate there aren’t many forests; and green areas are predominantly along the rivers. In addition to being the breadbasket of the country, there are many industrial foundations in the provinces of Ankara, Kayseri, Eskişehir, Karaman and Konya. Results of the researches and excavations have revealed that it has been a settlement for

10.000 years. The oldest settlements in Anatolia, Çatalhöyük, Aşıklıhöyük and Acemhöyük are in this region. It is possible to see Hittite, Phrygian, Roman, Byzantine, Anatolian Seljuks and Ottoman period structures and ruins almost everywhere in the country. The museums in the region house precious finds.

Central Anatolia Region Destinations