Blue mosque in Istanbul

Marmara Region – Turkey

The region includes Thrace, the Bosphorus and the Dardanelles Straits, which join the Black Sea, the Sea Marmara and the Aegean Sea. Although it has a small area, it is above the average of Turkey because of the industrial prosperity and the density of population There are 11 provinces in the region. These are Balıkesir, Bilecik, Bursa, Çanakkale, Edirne, Istanbul, Kocaeli, Sakarya, Tekirdağ and Yalova. The first and the fifth most crowded cities in Turkey-Istanbul and Bursa are in this region.

Although the terrain varies, the mountains are of moderate height. The region is divided into two parts as Anatolia and Thrace. Thrace is Turkey’s territories in Europe. The Matrisa and the Tunca, the Sakarya and the Susurluk are deep flowing rivers. The north of the region has warm summers, mild winters and high rainfall. The south of the region enjoys a transition to Mediterranean climate, while Thrace has continental climate. The region comprises mainly plains. The most important industrial foundations are in the Marmara Region, especially in Istanbul, Kocaeli and Bursa, which hold more than 50% of Turkish industry. The major ports in the region for export and import are in Istanbul and in the Gulf of İzmit.

Because the region is a bridge between Anatolia and the Balkans, many civilizations either emerged or stayed temporarily here. Thus the Marmara Region has important touristic value.

Marmara Region Destinations